The Best Wild fruit Infusions

20140206-081057.jpg

I’m not the greatest of wine makers I can admit that, not that I’m not going to keep trying but there is something about the process that I always seem to get wrong. That’s perhaps why I love infusions, the alcohol part is done for you all you need to do is add flavor and drink it! Last autumn was a great season for wild fruits of all kinds so I took it as a chance to experiment with something other than Sloe Gin.

While out walking one day I came across a damson tree laden with fruit, I kicked myself as I must have walked past it dozens of times before without noticing. I did consider making jam but you can have too much jam but never enough booze, so I made damson vodka, after a few months of patience it turned into a beautiful thick rich comforting blanket of a drink, instantly better dare I say than Sloe Gin. Using vodka instead of gin allows the fruit to impart it’s own flavor rather than be masked by the taste of the alcohol. Needless to say it’s all gone now.

By now the bug had bitten so I was on the lookout for more fruits to experiment with. The second I made was Cherry Plum vodka, made in the same way as the Damson, this has a sharper flavor, a little more tart. A search on the internet gave me my next and I must say favorite infusion ever, Blackberry Whiskey, it’s smooth and comforting after a cold January walk with a real depth of flavor, that I insist that everyone tries.

Blackberry Whiskey

blackberries

sugar

bottle of whiskey

Take a large jar, fill it 2/3 of the way with blackberries, pour in half that amount of sugar then top up the rest of the jar with whiskey. Don’t use expensive whiskey that would be a crime. Shake the jar now and again to help dissolve the sugar, leave in a dark cupboard for at least 3 months, try and make it in time for Christmas but better still hide a bottle of it for a year.

Damson Vodka

1kg damsons

500g sugar

1 litre vodka
Put all the ingredients into a large Kilner jar, shake every so often to dissolve the sugar and bottle after 3 months. Some people prick each fruit but who has time for that I tend to squash them lightly with a potato masher in the jar before I add the vodka. Like most infusions it will be better after a year if you can wait that long. Don’t forget that when you have bottled it you can eat the fruit with cream or custard etc.

Cherry Plumb Vodka

Make in the same way as the Damson Vodka but try freezing the cherry plums first then letting them thaw before adding them to the jar, this breaks down the skins and removes the need for tedious pricking.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Best Wild fruit Infusions

  1. Z says:

    At this time of year, Seville orange vodka is jolly good. You can also make it with lemon. Roughly, you pare the skin from three fruits, without the pith, pour off about a quarter of a litre bottle of vodka, shove in the skins, add 200g sugar or honey (a friend says she uses a pound of honey, but I haven’t tried it), give it a good shake and top up with the reserved vodka. Shake daily until the sugar has dissolved, then when you think of it. It’s ready after four to six months. You can also make it with gin.

    I like the idea of the blackberry whisky, I must try and remember, come the autumn.

  2. dibnah says:

    That sounds good, yeah my post is a little miss timed I wanted to share how it had turned out rather than just the recipes. Ive heard of orange liqueur but never tried it.

    Do try blackberry whiskey it really is the best. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

