Foraging everyday

20130930-094341.jpg

Bay Bolete Boletus badius

Foraged food is never going to make up a huge amount of my daily food and unless I spend all my time out looking for it I doubt it ever will. I’m not as committed as Fergus Drennan but I’m keen and try when I can to incorporate it into any trip I make out of the front door. There in lies the point not to see foraging for food as an exercise outside my daily routine but as part of it.

Without making much of an effort I’m slowly changing my habits to incorporate foraging into my life, simply changing my route to the supermarket ( I can’t live without hot pepper sauce) takes me through a park, an open field and a woodland and it only adds about 10 minutes to my journey. I’m opened up to the wild larder before I even get to the shops, the low shelves for mushrooms, the middle for berries and the best apples always on a high shelf that I need to ask a passerby to reach for me.

I can’t seem to help exuding enthusiasm for foraging at the moment I’ve dabbled for years nibbling blackberries and scrumping, sorry ‘picking’ apples but this year I seem to have jumped in head first, perhaps it’s the brilliant hedgerow harvests this year that have wet my appetite but I think that it’s my true belief that eating Strawberries in February is wrong and buying apples in autumn is ridiculous. Eating with the seasons makes meal times better, whatever reason you do it for, knowing that a certain food is about to come into season, planning recipes for it or preserving it for later in the year makes food more exciting and if that’s not enough to wet your appetite then I’ll let you into a little secret, all this food that you can get, which you can just go and pick is FREE!!

If I had a dog it would be easier as I’d have more of an excuse to walk the streets and parks everyday but just changing my route to the shop has made life better, cheaper and sweeter and it is a change I intend to stick to.

20130930-101150.jpg

Fly Agaric Amanita muscaria Yeah I know this ones not edible unless you want to dance with the fairies but it’s a great photo.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

