Free front door

20130325-150231.jpg

On our way home last night I noticed this beauty propped up at the side of a house up the street, a screech of brakes and a few silver tonged words and it was mine! The guy was going to skip it as he’s had all new PVC installed.

That”s fine I guess but it seems a shame to get rid of something that gives so much character to a house. At the moment we have a PVC door which although lets in lots of light is ugly as sin and I’ve been wanting to replace it with an original since we moved in. Considering some start at £500 and go up to £1000 I feel smug with my freebee. I like that it is exactly the style that our house would have had and even possibly from the same place?

The only problem is that the PVC installers have split the frame at the bottom of the door (muppets) ripping it off the wall. I’m sure it won’t be to tough to repair though, *hopes*. I wonder how many of these classics get skipped every year? I just don’t get it.

Anyway who cares? all I need to do now is work out what colour to paint it.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Free front door

  1. Val says:

    Wonderful Find!!!

Leave a Reply

