economy drive Day3

breakfastFinally a cash free day! I prepared myself, eggs from the bottom of the garden for breakfast- that’s from chickens not a new Tesco’s that’s popped up under the hedge. Lunch of pasta and store cupboard leftovers, all made and ready to go. There is also plenty of food for dinner later so no money need change hands today.

However that’s until we both have to leave the house, the car has been ruled out so the train it is. Here is my minor moral dilemma, not to sound like the Roger the Dodger of rail travel but sometimes on the 2 stop, 7 minute trip nobody checks your ticket. Meaning a saving of possibly £5 for the two of us. My OH decides to buy a return for £2:50 while I take a chance. We take the train get off nobody checks, I’m up but feel a little of a cheat. the day runs smoothly apart from a need to print some work, at a cost of 20p! my throat tightens, until a friend offers to print them as I did it last time, I sigh with relief and eat my lunch. Serendipitously while sharing the lift with the tea tray lady I cheekily ask if there are any biscuits left? to my delight there is a whole plate full which she kindly gives me, it feels like a very small victory.

I meet my OH in the park on the way home and we get the train together home again due to the rammed train no checks, I’ve had a completely free day without having to resort to a radical lifestyle change.

* disclaimer- I normally buy a train ticket

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

