The economy drive, DAY 1

Image

“That’s the last straw! we’re going on an economy drive.”

I’m not sure if the rest of the house got the reference, perhaps I watched too much TV as a child but I don’t care I’ve had enough. I can’t seem to blink without spending money at the moment. I know that  food, mortgage, warmth and the car all need paying for and I’m not about to live in a cave drawing Eastender’s on the wall and eating nuts but it’s getting too much, even when we all agreed on Sunday to survive on £20 this week (not including bills) it’s day one and we’ve failed! and that’s my point life’s getting too expensive.

We had agreed on living on £20 for the week, just as an experiment, to see what happened, to see where the money goes. It’s not so scary it takes a little commitment but not much danger, there’s probably more food in the house than I realize and I could probably do without a lot of things (keep repeating booze is not an essential..)

Here’s what happened, my OH get’s downstairs, there’s no porridge, cereal and she’s gluten free so no toast, so she has scrambled egg, using 3 of the six eggs we have- the chickens are not laying as regular at the moment. She then decides to get the train instead of driving to work which cost around £8 a week instead of £20 petrol. Ok at this point we’re winning.

As she leaves the house I realize she has not taken a packed lunch! First fail. I think ah well that’s OK she’s saving on the train and not using the car, until I remember it’s the last night of her upholstery class, meaning she needs to drive there and pay £12:50 for the class. Cutting a huge hole in the £20 budget.

I’m at home all day, so get the stove on and live like a Hobbit in the front room, boiling the kettle and making both breakfast and dinner on the stove, trying to feel that it’s making a difference. I use 2 eggs bread, pasta found at the back of the cupboard and the remains of pesto in the fridge.

We have what feels a decadent dinner of roast beef and the trimmings – bought at the weekend- my OH admits to spending £2:50 on her dinner but drops the bombshell of £3:99 on cough medicine!

Bringing Mondays grand total to £20:69

69p more than what we agreed to live on for the week. I can see that this is going to be tougher than I thought. in the words of Sid James “If you’ve got it spend it and if you ain’t got it, get it!”

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

