Headingley Guerilla Herb Garden

Thanks to a tweet from Richard Reynolds yesterday evening a friend and I found ourselves at the rock and roll end of horticulture having our photos taken by Paul Harris for 2020Vision. Well OK it’s not like being photographed falling off a toilet at Glastonbury but it was fun. Guerilla Gardening is as much about raising peoples awareness of the fact that they live in a world that they are part of not separate from. It’s also about the ownership of space these are public places, the clue is in the title, we need to remind ourselves that we do have ownership of these places not from a “I pay my taxes” view point but that it’s where I live where I walk past everyday why don’t we take pride and responsibility in these spaces as much as our homes.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Anyway I’m ranting, this was an unloved planter outside the Arndale Centre in Headingley, Leeds. I wanted to turn it into a veg box so I’ve started to plant herbs, Rosemary, Thyme and Egyptian Walking Onions because I love them. Hope fully I can add to this as the season allows. If anyone is in the area please feel free to add what you like.

I thought the idea of making it a veg box compliments the local eateries like Greggs and Pizza Express, oh I feel another rant coming………..

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Headingley Guerilla Herb Garden

  1. Nicole Brait says:

    There was a neglected area in a park where I used to live. I called the Parks Department and asked if I could plant some stuff there. They said go ahead and I basically did what you did. Just went nuts and planted. Along the way I picked up a few more volunteers, some people donated plants – and it slowly turned into a garden.

    It really feels good.

  2. Nicole Brait says:

    In Brooklyn, NY.

  3. Fred says:

    I am across a small pond. I will be in Leeds in November, hoping to do a seedbomb or a bulb planting attack. If I plant some bulbs, can you photograph them in the spring, and report back? many thanks. T.

  4. Ciaran says:

    I will definitely be there in a couple of weeks. It’s on!!!

  5. Ciaran says:

    Will be paying another flying visit in the next couple weeks. Will hopefully be able to photograph the results in person…

Leave a Reply

