fantastic Mr Fox 1 Chickens 0

Photobucket

Well we’ve had the chickens for nearly a year now and it’s been a pleasure with no real problems, other than losing the three day old chicks mysteriously one night. Well dying not being abducted by aliens.

However perhaps this relaxed attitude was the reason I forgot to close the gate on the chicken run. They live in old dog kennels, having a secure house surrounded by a wire fence. It has a concrete floor and is walled on two sides, pretty much a fortress, well that is if the gates shut!

I was just about to write an excuse but there is none, they are my responsibility and I let them down, that makes me feel bad but it’s also a lesson I’ll never forget.

I knew what was going on as soon as I heard Allen (the cockerel) doing his panic crow, it was about five in the morning, I raced to the window to see him and the fox fighting it out. Quite amazing really, he’s not the biggest cockerel and it seemed a fully grown fox. By the time I’d got outside the scene seemed a lot different the fox had scarpered but Allen lay in a strange position. I marched up to perform what I thought would be my first chicken dispatch and by moonlight just to add to the drama. However just as I was about to take hold of him he jumped up and ran off!

I searched but could not find any of the hens or Allen by this time, so I made a brew and just hung around until morning, all expecting not to see any of them again. By the time it was light all but one of the hens were back scratching and crapping all over the lawn. I was relieved to have not lost them all but guilty that it was my fault.

The lesson never let your guard down, well let the guard down but don’t forget to shut the gate too, well you know what I mean.

4 thoughts on “fantastic Mr Fox 1 Chickens 0

  1. Nickoshi says:

    Ack I wish i could have chickens in my back yard… i wish the regulations were different around here. sorry you lost some of your chicks.

  2. dibnah says:

    Well it’s not for too much longer. We have to move out of here, as much as I love it, it’s expensive to heat etc and I want a place that I can make my mark on not just worry what the landlords going to say if I don’t cut the grass.

    So we’ll have to give them up at the end of next month while we stay with a friend who has no garden! we’re looking for a house at the moment so when we get one we’ll have to get some more, that is if I can find one with a big enough garden to accommodate all my plans.

    To be honest with a small number of hens your probably better off buying organic eggs as the cost of keeping the chickens is about the same. If you can sell some and have a cockerel to help produce new hens it becomes a little more sustainable.

    We may need to live in a more suburban environment ourselves soon so chickens may not be an option for us. Hopefully I’ll find the ideal place but then I’ve always been a bit of dreamer.

  3. Mr.Choice says:

    That is awesomely fantastic. Wow, you are living like a true country fanatic… they live in kennels? Perhaps, you should make some chicken stew with those birds.

  4. link says:

    Good work buddy, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

