taking the garden with you

As I’ve previously said due to me and my wife separating I no longer live at home, this is also the reason that I have no been keeping up with posting. Anyway over the past few days I’ve been moving out my stuff books, tools and stuff. Today however I’ve been looking at the garden, it’s awful to think but I think I miss this the most.

Of all the things that I own and have put a lot of time into, the garden is something I wish I could take with me. I know it’s not possible and also even though plants can be moved etc the design as a whole only works because over the past eight years I’ve learned what grows where and all of the other little micro climates that you can only become intimate with over time. even if I could pick it up and put it somewhere else it could never be the same garden.

There are some certain plants however that can be moved, some that can be split and some were planted very recently and so have not yet become established. The question though is not can I move them but should I ? I’ve tried to create a garden which works in harmony with it’s surroundings so by takings things out I risk upsetting the balance.

I think more of my problem is this idea of ownership, I feel a great attachment to my garden and also don’t want it to become overgrown and unmanageable. At the end of the day the garden was deigned for this site and should stay as it was designed, I’ll just have to give it up and keep my eye on it from time to time. The thought of having to start all over again is exciting though so at least there is a positive in all this.

4 thoughts on “taking the garden with you

  1. Hi
    Nice to see you blogging again.

    I know exactly what you mean – I am not looking forward to leaving my garden either, which I will have to do at some point in the not too distant future. I will miss my garden and all its little idiosyncrasies too.

    Perhaps you could take cuttings of the plants that you don’t want to/can’t move instead.

    Anyways best of luck with it all…
    keener

  2. dibnah says:

    yeah your right forgot to mention that. I will be taking cuttings. I’m also planning to come from time to time to sort things out and make sure stuff does not die!! anyway must dash before I start a domestic!

  3. Sharon J says:

    This is my first visit to your blog and I have to say that I know exactly how you feel. I still think about a beautiful wildlife garden that I once had, but it’s become a nice memory now rather than something I wish I could have taken with me. Sadly, the whole garden was destroyed when new houses were built on the land.

    I’m sure you’ll soon be enjoying getting your hands dirty in your new garden. Enjoy it 🙂

  4. adrian2514 says:

    Hey thanks for the great blog, I love this stuff. I don’t usually do much for Earth Day but with everyone going green these days, I thought I’d try to do my part.

    I am trying to find easy, simple things I can do to help stop global warming (I don’t plan on buying a hybrid). Has anyone seen that http://www.EarthLab.com is promoting their Earth Day (month) challenge, with the goal to get 1 million people to take their carbon footprint test in April? I took the test, it was easy and only took me about 2 minutes and I am planning on lowering my score with some of their tips.

    I am looking for more easy fun stuff to do. If you know of any other sites worth my time let me know.

Leave a Reply

