today is buy nothing day

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

http://www.buynothingday.co.uk/

Saturday November 24h 2007 is Buy Nothing Day (UK), It’s a day where you challenge yourself, your family and friends to switch off from shopping and tune into life. The rules are simple, for 24 hours you will detox from consumerism and live without shopping. Anyone can take part provided they spend a day without spending!

It’s buy nothing day and I can say that I will not be buying a thing not because i agree with the whole idea but more for the fact that I don’t have a penny!!

7 thoughts on “today is buy nothing day

  1. Lesley says:

    I suppose I was lucky that it came on a Saturday!
    My local small-holder-man comes to my door with all his beautiful local produce each Friday.

    I then go to my day class (Welsh) at 9.30, having phoned my butcher first with my order. i pick up my beautiful meat after the class and collect anything else wanted on the way, keeping transport costs to a minimum with the one journey.

    Saturday is a day for walking the dog along the beach …. to hell with shopping

    However, I should have had a problem, had Friday been the ‘No shopping day’ !!

  2. Stonehead says:

    I have about six buy nothing days a week!

  3. I think I missed it. But more to the point, are you still keeping this blog active? I’m kinda missing it!

  4. navtej kohli says:

    Lol.. bye nothing day!!!.. quite interesting..I’ve heard this sometime ago.. but as always i tend to forget things like this. Thanks for this post.. I’ll make one it tomorrow.:)

  5. alex says:

    I really enjoy reading your blog, it always has great insight. But I am very frustrated with the fact that so few people are talking about presidential candidates and their thoughts on global warming. Now that it is down to just a few candidates I would think that this would be a bigger issue.

    Live Earth just picked up this topic and put out an article ( http://www.liveearth.org/news.php ) live earth is also asking why the presidential candidates are not being solicited for their stance on the issue of the climate change. I just saw a poll on http://www.EarthLab.com that says people care a lot about what their next leader thinks of global warming. Does anyone know of another poll or other results about this subject?

    Here is the page where I saw the EarthLab poll: http://www.earthlab.com/life.aspx. This is a pretty legit website; they are endorsed by Al Gore and the alliance for climate protection and they have a carbon footprint calculator. Does anyone have a strong opinion about this like I do? No matter what your political affiliation is or who you vote for this is an important issue for our environment, our economy and for homeland security.

  6. Sharon J says:

    I amazes me to think that some people actually find it difficult to go a whole day without buying anything. Even back when I was a big part of the consumer society I didn’t buy stuff every day and nowadays I can easily go a whole week without buying anything at all.

    I wonder how many people actually took part. I can’t remember there being anything in the news about shops noticing a sink in trade that day.

  7. Stonehead says:

    Food aside, we can find ourselves not buying anything for up to a month. It does help to be skint, though.

Leave a Reply

