working class permaculture

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The average working person in Britain on one hand is told to use the supermarket less and on the other lives frugally because of a lack of money rather than because of a lifestyle choice. I’m very much working class, well actually I’m one of Margaret Thatcher’s ‘underclass’ ( bless her ) as I don’t have a job at all.

How much of my life is voluntary simplicity and how much is imposed poverty, I could not say, we don’t struggle but we don’t want much. We are not in a position to spend money like water but then I’ve no desire to. We eat well have fun and blow the budget occasionally but the thing we never have to do is worry about money, for that I’m very thankful. When I’ve no money I don’t moan about it.

Some people however don’t have that choice, ethical shoppers or not many people do long hours for little pay, a vast majority of people work in jobs that promote consumerism, un-organic produce and money in favour of people. In reality many people work in supermarkets, where does that leave them? They get discounts on their shopping and are already at work, then some hippy tells them to shop local or buy ethical orgaic meat at twice the price. **** off is most peoples answer and why should they push an already tight budget?

If you can’t afford organic meat and a solar hot water system there’s not need to buy cheap super market shite and leave the hot tap running. Ethics principals and respect don’t cost a penny.

The media has jumped on the band wagon in the last few years, that anything to do with the environment organic food or veg growing is in and we should all be doing it. Just check out magazines and TV listings full of open ended arguments and no real questions, just as ever lifestlye promotion.

” We shop at the local farmers market, it’s all local and organic”
” Yeah, well, I shop at Lidle, it’s foods from a million miles away and the money I save goes to the pub at the weekend to drown my miserable existence and the farmers market is on while I’m at work.”

Remember you don’t need to be seen making a change it’s enough that you know that you’ve made an effort and you have done your bit. You still may drive to work shop at the supermarket and appear to be like all the other sheep but you know that you’ve made the choice to change.

Changing your routine is always difficult but add money, lifestyle and your job and the struggle increases, but hang on. I don’t have alot of money or even a car, how do I manage to be able to choose where I shop and what I do? The answer is simple I make a concious effort, how ever small, I don’t come up with excuses why not to, I think how can I ? I look at my life as a whole not just as a series of actions. Nobody is going to save the world alone.

5 thoughts on “working class permaculture

  1. Glad to have found you via Beansprouts. I agree that we do what we can do, and the power of the all individuals doing their bit, does make a difference.

  2. Sarah says:

    A very inspiring post, I may stick a line from this on a post-it-note to remind myself to give less money to Asda and more to local shops.

    The budget is definitely an issue, I’m trying to combine a low budget, a high fruit/veg diet and ethical shopping, can get difficult at times, however I do remind myself that every little bit helps.

  3. smallholder says:

    I agree with what you’ve said. I think it’s a continual compromise, though, to achieve one’s ‘ideal’ lifestyle. We often notice that it’s very easy to have principles if you’re rich; because as you said things like organic food and renewable power are very expensive options! So, I know that I have to shop in Aldi for my toilet rolls, etc (not my veg, thank god that comes from the garden!) but on the other hand I haven’t been on a plane in 8 years.

  4. Pip Wilson says:

    Very good post. I found it at http://www.wilsonsalmanac.com/news.html in the Permaculture section. Keep up the good work and feel free to send in any special items for our blog.

Leave a Reply

