Brigg farmers’ market

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Yesterday was Brigg farmers’ market, it’s been running for about 7 years now and yesterday was embarrassingly, the first time I have made it, even eco-warriors get lazy sometimes. This time I had no excuse as I was getting a lift from a friend. We got there about 12.30 and already it seemed as if some stalls had sold out, a much more popular event than I had allowed for.

All the produce was local and appart from a few naff sweet stalls most of the produce looked fresh and was worth taking a closer look. My favouite part is that most of the stalls have a try before you buy pollicy, which I like.

There were quite a few stallholders I recognised,

‘Bridge farm organic foods’ an organic farm near Gainsborough which I offered to volunteer at and was asked about a job there, but sadly it would mean two bus jorneys and a two mile walk to get there!

‘Mount pleasant windmill’ which is in Kirton and opposite my wifes aunties house. They produce organic flours and breads, all by traditional means.

I also saw Sue and Rob our friends and neighbours who produce some of the best cakes in the world. Also getting into conversation with them they told me about other events that they do like this and that I should get something together and get a stall. Possibly selling homebrew chilli brandy in wooden bottles turned on the polelathe? or something, but I will definatly consider it for the future.

A few people recognised me from the paper which was nice and in all the excitement I did not buy alot, perhaps a good thing. I did get some powerful chilli sauce from the Gringerly gringo stall. It does exactly what it says on the tin, it’s HOT ! I also got R a bath bomb, to try and encourage him to actually have one sometimes.

It was nice to spend time with my friend Colin and his daughter and it was also an eye opener that for vegans the farmers market is a little slim on produce.

Brigg also has some great shops, health food shops, Oxfam books, a rather cute grocers and a looking great deli, so if you live in the area you should deffinatly take a look. The farmers market is on the fourth Saturday of every month, so see you there next time.

4 thoughts on “Brigg farmers’ market

  1. I really wanted to go yesterday too, but I was too lazy to get out of bed early enough (and didn’t have enough money)…

    Last time I went was last summer – which you can read about here…
    http://www.realepicurean.com/index.php/archives/brigg-farmers-market/

  2. dibnah says:

    yes I read this, I was going to steal your photo’s as I forgot my camera but I I took one from the council instead.

  3. Colin says:

    If you want to go again, give us a shout and we’ll go first thing.
    Colin.

  4. dibnah says:

    That would be great thanks.

Leave a Reply

