pottery not playstations

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

A big thankyou to my good friend Robin, who is a potter, for bringing round a large bag of clay to get us all creative. What better way to spend an evening than getting all messy with clay.

They managed to make two bowls, a piggy bank, a cup and the wife made a mushroom for some reason?

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

It really does show that you can give a child anything and watch there imagination grow without resorting to a standardised form of entertainment forced upon them by advertisements and school friends. It is also much cheeper. How many times do we see children having more fun with a box than what it contains.

What I have come to dislike about toys DVD’s and video games is that they only offer another persons imagination and are already set in boundarys, boudary which I don’t want my kids to have.

I know that I had toys as a kid but I was happiest spending most of my time up trees and making bows an arrows, because I was allowed. All to often kids are prevented from experimenting or making a mess. I say let them make a mess let them climb trees and let them take a few risks. It is so easy to use the TV etc as a babysitter, I have done it myself but I’ve made an effort to encourage them to follow their interests and be themselves

If you don’t believe kids don’t need much to be happy look at my son here, who spent all day playing with an orange and a plastic frog from a cracker.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

8 thoughts on “pottery not playstations

  1. Sarah says:

    Nothing better than squishing clay around😀 DO agree with you, imagination, arts n crafts etc are far better for a developing mind than the gogglebox🙂

    How old are your littl’uns?

  2. dibnah says:

    13 year old teenage emo goth girl
    9 year old ninja
    3 year old little boss

  3. Sarah says:

    Wow does the ninja have nunchucks n stuff?😉

  4. kethry says:

    man, you know how much i really wanna just wriggle in at the table there, join in the conversation and get a lump of clay and get making stuff? i won’t though – that ninja looks scary!!!

  5. timethief says:

    Hi there,
    We’ve been living a simple life for 30 years now and I wouldn’t have it any other way. There are always improvements we can make and those come down to walking lightly on the earth. I’m glad to see you’re passing that on to the next generation.

    The way I see it is that three best things we can do for the health of the planet (no offence intended) is to reproduce less, become vegetarians and kick our fossil fuel addictions.

    It’s always interesting to see people playing with clay. My beloved and I have been in the pottery business for 30 years. He’s the potter and I do the decorating (sumie brush painting).

    All my best, tt

  6. dibnah says:

    You are right tt but what would you class as fossil fuel addictions ? that seems to be everything we eat, use and live in, it is nearly impossible to kick them completely. Although I do have a friend who lives in a bender in the woods his eco footprint must be quite small.

    Good luck with the pottery, I love having a potter as a friend as we have loads of crockery made by him, it is so personal and when a piece breaks he can make a replacement.lol

  7. Sara says:

    I have three kids my self and I completly agree with you on imagination rather than playstation & dvds and thats why I moved to the readwoods,but it’s realy dificult to implemint the natural free imagination and way of life when it was’nt tought to me and I don’t now a single person to influence and teach me.So I strugle every day trying to teach my children the way to eat, imagination,freewill, & nutural life Becouse I do’nt have any resorces or support. Oh and the public school system “what a nightmare” medication and no individuality “the norm
    ” It’s a start ,move to the woods ,no cable or video games trying to finde altenitive schooling for children but we need comunity bassed on the same system.

  8. dibnah says:

    Try not to be too hard on yourself, kids will always find a way to entertain themselves, I grew up with TV and computer games hated school and was never good at reading etc. Then I went on, to do 2 degrees in literature and fine art, now I am into permaculture and sustainable living.

    I must admit our kids do watch tv/dvd’s and have loads of toys which is partly to do with the fact that M and R have a different father, I can’t ever change that. I teach them about local seasonal food and then they are taken to McDonalds by their father.

    I try to remember not to force an alternative lifestyle on my kids so that I don’t become another biased teacher.

Leave a Reply

