Daily Archives: December 31, 2006

resolutions for 2007

I never really make resolutions but I like to think about what phsyical things I want to achieve for the new year, so here goes

Finish work in house tile floor skirting etc

Finish the shed/workshop which will be used to store tools bikes and homebrew, it’s an ideal place as it faces north and is always in the shade. It is also a better place for a water butt as our garden is on a slope so having the butt at the top will mean I will be able to connect a hose pipe.

Build a rain water catchment system, collecting water from the roof into a storage tank to be used to flush the downstairs toilet and possibly the washing machine, if I can find a cheap filter. This would be our biggest step towards self-sufficiency.

Reapply to the council to try and purchase the garden behind mine.

Build a wall at the front of the house, as it was taken down when we had the extention build to allow skips and bricks etc to be delivered. At the moment it is just layed to gravel and a waste of space, I want it to be another part of our permaculture garden, growing veg and bigger herbs like bay. I want people to see from the street that a front garden can be just as productive as a back garden.

I think thats enough for now, there are many things that I want to do but actions are better than words so I’ll keep it simple for now and get these out of the way first, partly because they were the things that I said I would get done this year. This is the reason I don’t make resolutions as when I don’t stick to them I have guilt as well as the fact that I have failed. Not getting something finished can be bad enough without feeling guilty about it.

Anyway happy new year, and if you do make resolutions don’t feel bad when you don’t stick to them, you can always make them again next year.