real meat mince pies

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I’ve been meaning to try this for a couple of years now after seeing it on the river cottage programme. Everybody keeps telling me that the meat will rot or that I’ve got the recipe mixed up I bet thay change there mind when they eat them , hopefully………

Hugh’s Real Meat Mincemeat

This is a recipe from the good old days, when mincemeat was what it said it was a highly spiced condiment containing meat. This makes some people squeamish, but really there is nothing to fear. The meat is ‘invisible’. But its inclusion means that mince pies made from this mincemeat are less sweet and sickly than the usual fare, and have more body and substance. I guarantee you will love them.
The quality of the beef is important: it should be lean and free from tough sinews. I like to buy braising or chuck steak and trim and mince it myself. Make the mincemeat at least a week, ideally a month, before you use it. It also makes a great stuffing for a loin of pork.

Ingredients:
Makes 5-6 jam jars of mincemeat
500g finely minced lean beef
250g beef suet
250g currants
250g raisins
250g tart eating apples, peeled, cored and finely chopped
125g soft brown sugar
125g ground almonds
100g preserved ginger in syrup, finely chopped, plus 4 tablespoons syrup from the jar
100g mixed candied peel, finely chopped
grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
grated zest and juice of 1 orange
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
2 teaspoons ground mixed spice
250ml rum, brandy or Calvados

Put everything in a large bowl and mix thoroughly, ideally with your hands. Keep in sealed jars in a cool place for up to a month before using. Make into mince pies using your favourite sweet pastry recipe, or a bought pastry, and serve piping hot with either brandy butter or a rich egg custard laced with Calvados, rum or brandy.

7 thoughts on “real meat mince pies

  1. Billy Rhomboid says:

    I have several very old english cookbooks which have lamb as the meat used – I tried Hugh’s beef one last year and it was very good. Meant to do lamb this year but didn’t get round to it.

  2. My Home says:

    Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

  3. Adam H,ills says:

    Great recipe, I been making for the last few years and my misses now loves mince pies..

  4. Adam H,ills says:

    Great recipe, I been making for the last few years and my misses now loves mince pies..

  5. gary says:

    It was the christmas of 2004 that I created the mincemeat myself. Both as a present for carniverous friends and the folks. I travelled the world and returned after 1 yr and to my suprise have discovered a jar unopened at a friends house. I promptly whipped out a shortcrust packet and set to work making bitesize pies in a mini muffin tray….
    that was yesterday and they tasted wickedly vintage and we’re still here to tell thee it aint rotted but has improved. Thats after 6 yrs in the dark.
    I’m sure Nelson would still be fine had he remained corked.

  6. [...] made mince pies with real mince from here. They were good; the meat wasn’t that noticeable but it really broke up the [...]

  7. Sharlene Kerr says:

    How long can you keep the mixture, frozen or otherwise?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 611 other followers

